When Friendship Followed Me Home by Paul Griffin

Ben Coffin is a quiet twelve year-old former foster child who loves his adoptive mother, science fiction, and spending time at the Coney Island Public Library.  When a stray dog he names Flip becomes part of Ben’s life and he and the librarian’s daughter, Halley, become friends, he believes that his life is the best it has even been.  Always upbeat even though she is taking chemo treatments for cancer, Halley shares Ben’s vivid imagination and loves to write.  She and Ben begin to work together on a creative online fantasy novella set at Coney Island.  When Ben’s mother dies unexpectedly, however, and he goes to live with an aunt who isn’t prepared for parenthood, he struggles to believe that a life of love and security is possible.  Perfect for fans of Counting By 7’s and One for the Murphys, this book for readers 11+ is a testament to one boy’s resilience and hope.